Potential Faculty Mentors
and their Research Interests

Students:

  • View the Faculty CV by clicking on their name
  • View the Faculty’s CV
  • Once the faculty has submitted their proposed project, it will be linked here
  • If you don’t see your favorite faculty member’s proposal, please remind them to apply

Faculty:

  • Would you like to be added to this list? Please fill out our small form.

Comparative Diagnostic and Population Medicine (CDPM)

Faculty UF E-mail address research interest
Dr. Bonnie Gatson bonniejh@ufl.edu Anesthesia, Analgesia, Small animals, Patient safety, Anesthesia for cardiac patients
Dr. Alice Lee alice.lee@vetmed.ufl.edu Diagnostic parasitology, intestinal helminths, drug resistance
Dr. Heather Walden hdstockdale@ufl.edu Parasites, Zoonotic helminths, Heartworm, Parasites of exotic hosts
Dr. Adam Stern adamstern@ufl.edu Cat, time since death, forensic science

Department of Infectious Diseases & Immunology (ID&I)

Faculty UF E-mail address research interests
Dr. Apichai Tuanyok tuanyok@ufl.edu Phage therapy, Burkholderia infection, Melioidosis, Glanders

Small Animal Clinical Sciences (SACS)

Faculty uf e-mail address JOINT FACULTY (IF ANY) Research Interests
Dr. Judith Bertran bertran.judith@ufl.edu –– Surgical oncology, Oncology, Lymph node mapping, Cancer, Interventional radiology
Dr Amara Estrada estradaa@ufl.edu Drs.Martyniuk and Vulpe CRISPR, Gene therapy, Cardiac disease
Dr. Robson Giglio giglior@ufl.edu Computed tomography; cardiac disease; avian
Dr. Kelly Harrison kelmeyer@ufl.edu Shelter medicine, spay-neuter, anesthesia
Dr. Shiomitsu Lejeune alejeune@ufl.edu –– Canine Transitional cell carcinoma, cancer, RNA-base scope, mutation, diagnosis, cancer pathways
Dr. Carlos Souza souzachm@ufl.edu Dr. Keijiro Shiomitsu Mast cell tumors produce inflammatory compounds to modulate the environment favoring tumor growth. We will study this hypothesis in MCT cell lines

Physiological Sciences

Faculty uf e-mail address jOINT FACULTY (if any) research interest
Dr. Julie Levy levyjk@ufl.edu –– Shelter medicine, feline infectious diseases, spay/neuter, humane community cat management
Dr. Steve Roberts smroberts@ufl.edu –– Kidney disease, Pesticides, Heat stress, Surgery
Dr. Chris Vulpe cvulpe@ufl.edu Drs. Estrada and Martyniuk CRISPR, Gene therapy, Cardiac disease

 

As part of both the Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences and the Academic Health Center, Veterinary Medicine is dedicated to advancing animal, human and environmental health through teaching, research, extension and patient care.

VISIT IFAS >

Boehringer Ingelheim

The Boehringer Ingelheim Veterinary Scholars Program offers DVM students an opportunity to gain exposure in biomedical research.

LEARN MORE >

Need animal care? Visit the UF Small Animal and Large Animal Hospitals. From dogs, cats, birds and exotics to horses, cattle, llamas, pigs and many other large farm or food animals, our experienced veterinarian staff is ready to assist.

LEARN MORE >