Potential Faculty Mentors
and their Research Interests

We have 40 faculty projects available.

Students:

  • View the Faculty CV by clicking on their name
  • View the Faculty’s CV
  • Once the faculty has submitted their proposed project, it will be linked here

Comparative, Diagnostic and Population Medicine (CDPM) (8)

Faculty UF E-mail address JOINT FACULTY (IF ANY) research project interests
Dr. Sal Frasca, Jr sfrasca@ufl.edu Drs. D Brown, K Shiomitsu, S Bechtel RNA scope, aquatic pathology, cancer genetics, mycoplasma
Dr. Bonnie Gatson bonniejh@ufl.edu –– Anesthesia, Analgesia, Small animals, Patient safety, Anesthesia for cardiac patients
Dr. Alice Lee alice.lee@vetmed.ufl.edu –– Diagnostic parasitology, intestinal helminths, drug resistance
Dr. Maureen T. Long longm@ufl.edu Infectious diseases, horses, humans, mosquito-borne disease, West Nile virus, Zika virus
Dr. Robert Ossiboff rossiboff@ufl.edu Dr. Jim Wellehan Reptile virus research, molecular characterization of zoo/wildlife pathogens
Dr. Sree Rajeev s.rajeev@ufl.edu Pythium insidiosum pathogenesis, Leptospira, detection and sensitivity
Dr. Adam Stern adamstern@ufl.edu –– Cat, time since death, forensic science
Dr. Heather Walden hdstockdale@ufl.edu –– Parasites, Zoonotic helminths, Heartworm, Parasites of exotic hosts

Department of Infectious Diseases & Immunology (ID&I) (7)

Faculty UF E-mail address JOINT FACULTY (IF ANY) research project interests
Dr. Daniel R. Brown drbrown@ufl.edu Dr. Salvatore Frasca, Jr. Molecular diagnostics, wildlife diseases, canine diseases, drug development
Dr. Rhoel Dinglasan rdinglasan@epi.ufl.edu Malaria, Murine Malaria Model, Vaccine Development, Vaccinology
Dr. Julie M. Moore juliemoore@ufl.edu Malaria, mouse model, pathogenesis, pregnancy, coagulopathy, oxidative stress, cell death pathways
Dr. Bikash Sahay sahayb@ufl.edu Dr. Janet Yamamoto CRISPR/Cas9, in vivo gene editing, proviral editing, vaccine development
Dr. Apichai Tuanyok tuanyok@ufl.edu Phage therapy, Burkholderia infection, Melioidosis, Glanders
Dr. Thomas B. Waltzek tbwaltzek@ufl.edu Dr. Kuttichantran Subramaniam Aquatic animal health, Viral genomics, Bioinformatics, Metagenomics, Phylogenomics
Dr. Janet Yamamoto yamamoto@ufl.edu Dr. Bikash Sahay Feline immunodeficiency virus cure

Large Animal Clinical Sciences (LACS) (5)

JOINT FACULTY (IF ANY) Research project interests
Dr. Adam Biedrzycki dradam@ufl.edu Dr. Alison Morton Determining the accuracy of surgical procedures using 3D virtual surgery methods
Dr. João Bittar jbittar@ufl.edu Beef cattle, Infectious diseases of cattle, Vaccine immune response, Trace minerals and stress
Dr. Sally DeNotta s.denotta@ufl.edu Dr. Fernando Garcia Equine, neurology, pharmacology, large animal medicine
Dr. Klibs Galvao galvaok@ufl.edu –– Reproductive performance of dairy cows suffering from metritis and ketosis
Dr. Iske Larkin ivlarkin@ufl.edu Florida manatee male reproduction, semen morphometry, sperm cryopreservation

Small Animal Clinical Sciences (SACS) (16)

Faculty uf e-mail address JOINT FACULTY (IF ANY) Research project Interests
Dr. Ashley Allen-Durrance aeallen@ufl.edu –– venom, snake bite, coral snake, Micrurus fulvius, ELISA, antibody, antivenin, antivenom, canine, dog
Dr. Judith Bertran bertran.judith@ufl.edu –– Surgical oncology, Oncology, Lymph node mapping, Cancer, Interventional radiology
Dr Amara Estrada estradaa@ufl.edu Dr. Christina Pacak Induced pluripotent stem cells, Canine inherited/familial cardiomyopathy, Dilated cardiomyopathy
Dr Amara Estrada estradaa@ufl.edu Drs.C Martyniuk, C Vulpe CRISPR, Gene therapy, Cardiac disease
Dr. Aitor Gallastegui aitorgallastegui@ufl.edu Correlation of CT findings with lumbosacral and sacroiliac pain in 100 sport dogs.
Dr. Aitor Gallastegui aitorgallastegui@ufl.edu Dr. Frank Bova radiology simulation development
Dr. Robson Giglio giglior@ufl.edu Computed tomography; cardiac disease; avian
Dr. Kelly Harrison kelmeyer@ufl.edu Shelter medicine, spay-neuter, anesthesia
Dr. Amandine Lejeune alejeune@ufl.edu Dr. Keijiro Shiomitsu Canine Transitional cell carcinoma, cancer, RNA-base scope, mutation, diagnosis, cancer pathways
Dr. Julie Levy levyjk@ufl.edu Shelter medicine, feline infectious diseases, spay/neuter, humane community cat management
Dr. Wendy Mandese wmandese@ufl.edu Urine culture, Urine contamination, Urinalysis
Dr. Penny Regier pregier@ufl.edu Small animal soft tissue surgery, Upper airway disease, Gastrointestinal surgery, MIS
Dr. Domenico Santoro dsantoro@ufl.edu retrospective, antibiogram, staphylococci, dermatology, dog, cats
Dr. Meg Sleeper margaretmsleeper@ufl.edu Dr. Darcy Adin Cardiac, cachexia, myostatin, biomarker, cancer, renal, heart failure
Dr. Carlos Souza souzachm@ufl.edu Dr. Keijiro Shiomitsu inflammatory compounds, pro-tumor growth environments, MCT cell lines
Dr. Federico Vilaplana Grosso fvilaplanagrosso@ufl.edu Dr. Robson Giglio Tortoise, turtle, Wild life, CT, Trauma, Hit by car

Physiological Sciences (4)

Faculty uf e-mail address jOINT FACULTY (if any) research interest
Dr. Chris Martyniuk cmartyn@ufl.edu Dr. Chris Vulpe iPSCs, cardiomyocytes, canine, CRISPR gene editing
Dr. Aaron Mickle amickle@ufl.edu Neuromodulation, optogenetics, spinal cord injury, bladder function
Dr. Steve Roberts smroberts@ufl.edu –– Kidney disease, Pesticides, Heat stress, Surgery
Dr. Chris Vulpe cvulpe@ufl.edu Drs. Amara Estrada, Chris Martyniuk CRISPR, Gene therapy, Cardiac disease

 

As part of both the Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences and the Academic Health Center, Veterinary Medicine is dedicated to advancing animal, human and environmental health through teaching, research, extension and patient care.

VISIT IFAS >

Boehringer Ingelheim

The Boehringer Ingelheim Veterinary Scholars Program offers DVM students an opportunity to gain exposure in biomedical research.

LEARN MORE >

Need animal care? Visit the UF Small Animal and Large Animal Hospitals. From dogs, cats, birds and exotics to horses, cattle, llamas, pigs and many other large farm or food animals, our experienced veterinarian staff is ready to assist.

LEARN MORE >